Let’s Play Real Poker On-Line


Why play On-Line?

I decided on April 18, 2020, during the height of the Covid-19 Pandemic to create an on-line poker experience that would allow players to connect from the safety of their home while “sheltering in place”.

I for one was tired of being forced to stay in my home, but still wanted to connect and play cards with my friends.  I tried a couple times to use the commercial “play for free sites” like PlayWPT, PokerStars, WSOP, etc. but they didn’t allow the flexibility.  So I decided to try something else.

The On-Line Poker Platform

The platform that I decided to go with was Pokerrrr 2.  It has a really easy to use poker interface that for the user is similar to holding cards in their hands.  It is geared to be used on a smart phone or tablet, and uses simple hand or finger gestures to peek at your cards, double-tap to check, flick your finger to fold your hand, etc.

The other reason I love Pokerrrr 2, is from a hosting standpoint it gives the game director a ton of flexibility.  If I’m running a tournament for example, I can decide the starting stack size, what game or games we are playing from Hold’em, to pineapple, to Omaha Hi or Hi-Lo, 5 Card Omaha, or even a mix of games like HORSE, or whatever.  I can decide on the blind levels, the length of the blind levels, whether we do rebuy’s, whether it’s a single table game or a multi-table game.  We can do Tournaments, Cash Games, you name it.  SUPER FLEXIBLE!

There is one drawback for all this flexibility, there’s a cost to host.  The cost to the host is variable based on a lot of the features we use above.  There’s a cost per table, there’s a cost per table per hour, there’s additional cost for rebuy’s, etc.  So that’s the downside, but there’s a ton of upside.

How to download and use Pokerrrr 2

If you are an iOS user of Apple products, you will go to your App Store, search for Pokerrrr 2 then click download.  Similarly if you are an Android user, go to Google Play, then apps, then search for Pokerrrr 2.  Download the application, sign in, setup your Screen Name, and that’s it.  There is a Play Now function that allows you to play to get used to the interface, it will teach you how to call, bet, raise, fold, and more.  I recommend spending a bit of time getting used to the interface on play games before jumping right in.

Quick Preview of Pokerrrr 2 User Interface

Here’s a quick look of how what Pokerrrr 2 looks like from a user’s standpoint, and some ideas of a few easy to use hand gestures…

I’ve downloaded Pokerrrr 2, now what?

Now that you have Pokerrrr 2 loaded, you will want to join my club.  I have already sent most of you a referral code “50D85787”.  That will give me some free gold to host games for a little while.  Now you will need to join my club, my club code is v9do5.

Download GroupMe for Communications

Now that you have the Pokerrrr 2 app on your phone, and you’ve joined the club, you will need a way to see upcoming scheduled games, register for them, understand your balance, and to chit-chat with other people in the club.  The GroupMe collaboration tool will be a private community, only I will be able to allow new people in, so your conversations are private (unlike Facebook, etc.)

Venmo will be used to Send BuyIn’s and Receive Payouts

Finally, you will need to sign up for a Venmo account, to do so please see your favorite App Store and download the Venmo application, set it up with your bank account by following the instructions.  This will be used for buying into tournaments and getting your payouts.  All Buy-in’s will be paid to Patrick-Brown-403, and all Payouts will be paid from me.

About brownpm86

Hello, my name is Pat. I'm an IT Professional with an entrepreneurial spirit. I grew up in a rural setting, but love the big city too. I have several hobbies including: playing poker, traveling, eating, blogging, telling a good joke, and having fun with other human beings!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment